23-25 May 2022 | VIRTUAL CONFERENCE

CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS







INTRODUCTION

Greetings from Sunway University and welcome to the APacCHRIE 2022 Conference!

First and foremost, thank you all for your support and participation at this much-anticipated annual conference.

There has been an eclectic range of paper submissions received this year. The theme of the conference is "Creating tourism sustainably in challenging times", which is particularly apt as nations across the globe are gradually recovering from the COVID-19 pandemic. Hence, this conference provides researchers, practitioners and the academic community with an important platform to critically discuss the opportunities and furtherance of the hospitality and tourism industry.

Along with the tremendous support from paper committee and paper reviewers hailing from different renowned institutions, a total of 156 papers have been accepted to present in this conference. Indeed, there are numerous interesting and insightful papers, which we hope you will enjoy and benefit from.

Last but not least, we would also like to express our gratitude to all colleagues, speakers, sponsors, conference participants and the student committee for the tremendous support in the creation of this conference.

We wish you a great virtual experience with us.



Assoc Prof Alexander Trupp Conference Co-chair / Paper Co-chair



Prof Sam Kim
APacCHRIE President

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

CONFERENCE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Conference Chair
Conference Co-chair
Conference Secretariat
Youth Conference Co-chair
Programme Co-chair

Prof Marcus Stephenson
Assoc Prof Alexander Trupp
Ms Evelyn Loh Geok Yan
Ms Hairani M Nur
Assoc Prof Daniel Chong

PAPER REVIEW COMMITTEE

Assoc Prof Dr Derek Ong Lai Teik
Dr Kamelia Chaichi
Dr Ooi Pei Boon
Dr Philip Wong Pong Weng
Dr Rachel Thomas Tharmabalan
Dr Teh Pek Yen
Mr Trevor Shenal Anton

REVIEWERS FOR ABSTRACTS / FULL PAPERS

Dr Adamu Abbas Adamu Curtin University Malaysia

Assoc Prof Dr Alexander Trupp Sunway University

Prof Andreas Zins Curtin University Malaysia

Dr Beatrice Loo Poh Theng I-Shou University

Dr Caudia Dolezal IMC Krems, Austria

Dr Claire Liu Auckland University of Technology

Dr Daisy Fan Bournemouth University

Dr Daniel Leung The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Dave Chan The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Denis Tolkach James Cook University Australia

Assoc Prof Dr Derek Ong Lai Teik Sunway University

Dr Devi Roza Kausar Universitas Pancasila

Dr Eden Jiao The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Erdinc Cakmak Breda University of Applied Sciences

Dr Emmanuel Gamor The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Evangeline E. Timbang University of Santo Tomas

Ms Evelyn Loh Geok Yan Sunway University

Dr Faith Ong The University of Queensland

Dr Frank Badu-Baiden The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Hailey Shin The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Ilisapeci Matatolu The University of the South Pacific

REVIEWERS FOR ABSTRACTS / FULL PAPERS

Dr Jaehee Gim The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Jaeyeon Choe Swansea University

Dr Janelle Chan The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Jinah Park The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Prof John Ap Macao Institute for Tourism Studies

Prof Joseph M. Cheer Wakayama University, Japan

Dr Kamelia Chaichi Sunway University

Prof Dr Khairil Wahidin Bin Awang Universiti Malaysia Kelantan

Prof Lawrence Fong Univesity of Macau

Prof Leonardo A.N. Dioko (Don) Macao Institute for Tourism Studies

Dr Linda Woo The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Lisa Gao The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Loretta Park The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Mahlagha Darvish Motevail The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr S. Mostafa Rasoolimanesh Taylor's University

Dr Nan Chen The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Neil Li The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Ooi Pei Boon Sunway University

Prof Parikshat Singh Manhas University of Jammu

Prof Perry Hobson Breda University of Applied Sciences

Dr Pham Hong Long Vietnam National University, Vietnam

Dr Philip Wong Pong Weng Sunway University

REVIEWERS FOR ABSTRACTS / FULL PAPERS

Dr Rachel Thomas Tharmabalan Sunway University

Dr Richard S. Aquino University of Canterbury

Dr Roberto Gozzoli Mahidol University

Prof Salamiah A Jamal Universiti Teknologi MARA

Prof Sam Kim The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Samuel Folorunso Adeyinka-Oj Curtin University Malaysia

Assoc Prof Sebastian Filep The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Serene Tse The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Sera Vada Griffith University

Dr Seunghun Shin The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Prof Sridar Ramachandran University Putra Malaysia

Dr Sunggyun Mun The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Teh Pek Yen Sunway University

Dr Thitirat Panbamrungkij Chulalongkorn University

Dr K. Thirumaran James Cook University Singapore

Dr Tony Tse The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Toney K. Thomas Mahatma Gandhi University

Mr Trevor Shenal Anton Sunway University

Assoc Prof Vincent Tung The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Yitong Yu The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dr Yong Chen Ecole notelière de Lausanne

Dr YooHee Hwang The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

BEST PAPER SELECTION PANEL

Prof Andreas Zins Curtin University Malaysia

Ilisapeci Matatolu
The University of the South Pacific

Dr Jaeyeon Choe Swansea University

Prof Leonardo A.N. Dioko (Don) Macao Institute for Tourism Studies

Dr Richard S. AquinoUniversity of Canterbury

Dr Sera Vada Griffith University

Professor Stephen Pratt
The University of the South Pacific

Dr K ThirumaranJames Cook University Singapore

Dr Thitirat Panbamrungkij Chulalongkorn University

PARTNERS & SPONSORS

CONFERENCE SPONSOR



INSTITUTIONAL SPONSORS



SCHOOL OF HOTEL AND TOURISM MANAGEMENT



CORPORATE SPONSORS



